The American Institute of Architects, Central Oklahoma Chapter honored seven firms last week during their 2014-2015 AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards Program.  AIA Central Oklahoma received forty-three Design Award entries into this year’s competition.  Entrants were architects from the AIA Central Oklahoma Chapter, which covers primarily the western half of the State.  The entered projects could be located anywhere in the world.  Entrants were able to submit in six categories: Commercial Architecture, Residential Architecture, Interiors, Urban Design, Historic Preservation / Adaptive Reuse and Un-built.

“The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards program celebrates the best in architecture and urban design.  We are excited to showcase this exceptional architecture and design from our local Oklahoma architects,” said Melissa Hunt, Executive Director for AIA’s Central Oklahoma Chapter.

The jury for the 2014 Design Awards met in Indianapolis, IN to select this year’s winners.  The jury was made up of three award winning, Indianapolis architects: William Browne, FAIA of Ratio Architects; Donna Sink, AIA of Indianapolis Museum of Art and John Albrecht, AIA of DkGr.

The Awards Banquet was held on Friday, November 14th at the Skirvin Hotel and William Browne, FAIA, the jury chair, was on-hand to assist AIA Central Oklahoma President-Elect, Geoffrey Parks, AIA of Studio Architecture in presenting the winners of the 2014-2015 AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards competition.  The following firms and projects were honored for their design.

Butzer Gardner Architects received the evening’s highest honor with an HONOR AWARD for Slivr in the COMMERICAL ARCHITECTURE category.


SLIVR   / Photography by Tim Hursley

Also in the COMMERCIAL ARCHITECTURE category, Studio Architecture was awarded a MERIT AWARD for the OSU Sherman E. Smith Training Center.  The third award in Commercial Architecture, a MERIT AWARD was given to Mass Architects for the Davis Field Regional Airport Terminal.


OSU Sherman E. Smith Training Center / Photography by Simon Hurst Photography


Davis Field Regional Airport / Photography by Simon Hurst Photography

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris was honored with a MERIT AWARD in RESIDENTIAL ARCHITECTURE for Lake Texoma Dockominium.


Lake Texoma Dockominium / Photography by AHMM

In the INTERIORS category, Elliott + Associates Architects was awarded a MERIT AWARD for the OSU Postal Plaza Gallery.

AIACOC033_Elliott + Associates

OSU Postal Plaza Gallery / Photography By Scott McDonald © Hedrich Blessing

There two awards given in the ADAPTIVE REUSE category, a MERIT AWARD to Fitzsimmons Architects for 430 Lofts and a MERIT AWARD to Elliott + Associates Architects for Lingo Construction Services.

430 Apartments

430 Lofts / Photography By Joseph Mills Photography

AIACOC031_Elliott + Associates

Lingo Construction Services / Photography By Scott McDonald © Hedrich Blessing

MA+ Architecture received a MERIT AWARD for HISTORIC PRESERVATION for the Senate Assembly Room.


Senate Assembly Room / Photography By MA+ Architecture

In the UNBUILT category, Elliott + Associates received a CITATION AWARD for their RJ Marfa project.

AIACOC034_Elliott + Associates

RJ Marfa / Rendering by Skyline Ink

In addition to the projects awarded by the jury, AIA Central Oklahoma hosted a People’s Choice competition.  The People’s Choice Award provided the community the opportunity to vote for their favorite design project. There were more than 5600 votes received.

The People’s Choice Award winners were:

Troy D. Rhodes & Company for Southern Nazarene University Science Building,


Photography By Joseph Mills Photography

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for Lake Texoma Dockominium


Photography By AHMM

Rees Associates for KD’s Southern Cuisine


Photography By David Cobb

MA+ Architecture for Senate Assembly Room


Photography By Simon Hurst Photography

TAP ARCHITECTURE for Moore Central Park






Scroll to Top