AIACOC Design Awards Call for Entries

Posted by on Jun 13, 2022 in Uncategorized | No Comments

The AIA Central Oklahoma Architecture Awards showcase the best of built work by members of AIA Central Oklahoma. Entrants must be members of The American Institute of Architects, Central Oklahoma Chapter. Award winners will be announced during the AIA Awards Celebration on Friday evening, November 11 at the Devon Tower in downtown Oklahoma City. 

–Eligible projects must be designed by an AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma built anywhere in the world.

–Residential Projects can be designed by an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

–Only AIA Central Oklahoma members in good standing with The American Institute of Architects Central Oklahoma Chapter may submit entries.

–An individual submitting an entry must have designed the project or been a member of the project team who executed the project.

–An entry executed by a Joint Venture shall be eligible if any member the Joint Venture is an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

–Only projects completed after January 1, 2016 are eligible.

–Previously honored projects in other AIA state or regional, or national awards are eligible but projects previously honored in an AIA Central Oklahoma Awards program are not eligible. (Excellence in Craft exception: Projects previously honored in other categories can still be entered in the Excellence in Craft category).

Entry Categories      

Large Commercial Architecture (above 25,000 sf)
Any new build or addition / renovation commercial project above 25,000 sf

Commercial Architecture
Any new build or addition / renovation commercial project below 25,000 sf. 

Residential Architecture
Residential projects consisting of four or fewer dwelling units, either attached or detached

Interior Architecture
Projects focusing on interior architecture

Adaptive Reuse 
The renovation and reuse of an existing structure for new purposes

This year’s specialty categories:

K-12 Education
Any project K-12 education project

Excellence in Craft
(Projects previously honored in other categories are still eligible for entry in Excellence in Craft) Any building detail or special feature on a project. This category is intended to highlight a specific part of a project, not an entire building.

Submission Requirements
AIA Central Oklahoma uses a paperless, digital submission entry. 

All entries must include:

  1. A PDF presentation derived from a template provided by AIA Central Oklahoma that includes up to 12 pages showcasing the project to the jury. (Slide 1 will be the cover slide, Slide 2 must be a narrative addressing how your project addresses the AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence. And the remainder of the presentation will be up to the submitter). 
  2. If submitting for the COTE Award, include a completed Common App form (included in submission requirements email). 
  3. Identification forms in Word format.
  4. Up to 6 high resolution project images, a selection of which may be used during the Awards Ceremony and / or for publication and publicity.
  5. One slide of the project in PowerPoint format to be used during the Awards Celebration dinner.

People’s Choice participation is optional.

  1. People’s Choice entry form in Word format.
  2. Two images (less than 2MB in size) to be used in promotion of the People’s Choice Competition.

Submission details will be sent to entrants on or before July 22, 2022.  

The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards jury will be from the Jackson, Mississippi area and will be comprised of four noted architecture professionals representing different states of practice- experienced, mid-career, and emerging; and at least one juror will have experience with the AIA Framework for Design Excellence.

Judging Criteria
The jury may make any interpretations necessary to carry out the intent of the competition: to recognize the highest quality and achievement in architectural design and honor the creativity of Central Oklahoma architects. Entries will be judged on the success with which the project has met its individual requirements, overall design quality, and its achievement of excellence.

Framework for Design Excellence  represents the defining principles of good design in the 21st century. Comprised of 10 principles and accompanied by searching questions, the Framework seeks to inform progress toward a zero carbon, equitable, resilient, and healthy built environment. These are to be thoughtfully considered by designer and client at the initiation of every project and incorporated into the work as appropriate to the project scope. The Framework is intended to be accessible and relevant for every architect, every client, and every project, regardless of size, typology, or aspiration.


Honor Award
The Honor Award is AIA’s highest level of award. It acknowledges a project with distinctive character and outstanding merit.

Merit Award
The Merit award recognizes projects that clearly demonstrate a level of design that exemplifies superior achievements.

Citation Award
The Citation Award is awarded to projects of notable accomplishment and excellent design qualities.

COTE Award
The COTE Award is awarded to the project that best addresses the sustainability as presented in the Common App and the overall submission.

Awards Presentation
The AIACOC Architecture Awards Banquet will take place on Friday, November 11 at the Devon Tower in downtown Oklahoma City. Cost to attend the awards dinner is separate from the registration fee for entering the Architecture Awards competition.

Fees & Deadlines
–A non-refundable registration fee of $150 is required for each entry into the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards. 
–Entry form and fees must be received by the Chapter Office no later than July 15, 2022. 
–Detailed Submission Requirements will be sent to entrants no later than July 22, 2022. 
–Final submissions will be due no later than 11:59 p.m. on September 16, 2022.

Questions regarding the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards Program should be submitted in writing to

Once you submit your form, you will receive an invoice to pay online or by check. The maximum number of entries is 8 entries.