Call for Entries

The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards showcase the best of built work by members of AIA Central Oklahoma. Entrants must be members of The American Institute of Architects, Central Oklahoma Chapter.

Earlier this year, AIA Central Oklahoma put together a Design Awards Task Force to review our Design Award categories, jury criteria, and judging criteria. Below you will notice new categories and a more defined judging criteria. One new category is our specialty category. Each cycle we will be rotating a specialty category to help feature various project types. This year our specialty category is Healthcare.

The award winners will be announced during the AIA Design Excellence Awards Dinner on Friday, October 26th at the Skirvin Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City.


–Eligible projects must be designed by an AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma built anywhere in the world.

–Residential Projects can be designed by an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

–Only Architects or Intern Architects in good standing with The American Institute of Architects Central Oklahoma Chapter may submit entries.

–An individual or firm may submit a maximum or six entries, across all categories for which authorship can be supported. An individual submitting an entry must have designed the project or been a member of the project team who executed the project.

–An entry executed by a Joint Venture shall be eligible if any member the Joint Venture is an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

–Only projects completed after January 1, 2015 are eligible.

–Previously honored projects in other AIA state or regional, or national awards are eligible but projects previously honored in an AIA Central Oklahoma Awards program are not eligible.

Entry Categories

Large Commercial Architecture
Commercial Architecture projects 50,001 square feet and over

Medium Commercial Architecture
Commercial Architecture project between 12,001 – 50,000 square feet

Small Commercial Architecture
Commercial Architecture project under 12,000 square feet

Residential Architecture
Single family home or multi-family projects

Interior Architecture
Projects involving primarily the design of interior spaces.

Master Planning
Long range planning of land, community or a building complex

Urban Design
Structures and other placemaking elements within an urban environment that create distinct public spaces

Historic Preservation
Projects involving the preservation, restoration or rehabilitation of older structures. Projects must remain historic in character.

Adaptive Reuse 
The renovation and reuse of an existing structure for new purposes

This year’s specialty category: 

Healthcare Architecture projects


The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards jury from the Louisville, Kentucky area and will be comprised of three noted architectural professionals representing different states of practice- experienced, mid-career, and emerging.

Judging Criteria

The jury may make any interpretations necessary to carry out the intent of the competition:  to recognize the highest quality and achievement in architectural design and honor the creativity of Central Oklahoma architects.  Entries will be judged on the success with which the project has met its individual requirements, overall design quality, and its achievement of excellence in one or more of the following:

A project that displays significant sustainable design attributes and makes intelligent use of available resources.

A project that displays excellence in its use of materials or in the use of a particular material.

A project that displays excellence in overcoming a technical challenge – i.e. structure, MEP systems, site, or envelope.

A project that elevates user experience through spatial interpretation of programmatic goals and regulatory requirements.

A project that makes much out of little – space, budget, other constraints.

A project that responds to and relates with its context.

A project that applies new and better solutions that meet new requirements or unarticulated needs.

Submission Requirements

AIA Central Oklahoma uses a paperless, digital submission entry.

All entries must include:

  1. A Power Point presentation (pptx) derived from a template provided by AIA Central Oklahoma that includes up to 10 slides depicting the project in with a minimum of 4 photographs, 2 drawings, and one text slide.
  2. Identification forms in Word format.
  3. Up to 6 high resolution project images, a selection of which may be used during the Awards Ceremony and / or for publication and publicity.

Submission details will be sent to entrants on or before July 13.

Awards Presentation

The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards Dinner will take place on Friday, October 26, 2018 at the Skirvin Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City.  Cost to attend the awards dinner is separate from the registration fee for entering the Design Excellence Awards competition.

Fees & Deadlines

A non-refundable registration fee of $150 is required for each entry into the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards.  Your entry form and fee must be received by the Chapter Office no later than June 29, 2018.  Detailed Submission Requirements will be sent to entrants no later than July 13, 2018.  Final submissions will be due no later than 11:59 p.m. on September 7, 2018.

Questions regarding the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards Program should be submitted in writing to

To Enter

Please complete an Entry Form

Mail your entry form and payment to: AIACOC, P.O. Box 2312, Oklahoma City, OK 73101

To pay your entries online CLICK HERE (but you must still submit an entry form)